Cricket World Cup 2011 – Blast From The Past

The 10th ICC Cricket World Cup was held in 2011, and was jointly hosted by Sri Lanka, India and Bangladesh. This mega-event included 14 teams, of which there were 4 associate member teams who were granted special permission to participate in the tournament. India for the second time in Cricket history lifted the World Cup, after defeating Sri Lanka in the Final match by 6 wickets. This was the first time any Cricket team won a World Cup on its home soil.

Statistics of World Cup 2011

Tillakaratne Dilshan made the most runs in the whole competition. He made 500 runs in 9 matches, at an average of 62.50. He was followed by Sachin Tendulkar’s 482 runs and Kumar Sangakara’s 465 runs.

Shahid Afridi and Zaheer Khan both took highest wickets in the tournament, each bagging a total of 21 wickets. However, Shahid Afridi had a better average of 12.85 and an economy rate of just 3.62.

Yuvraj Singh was declared Man of the Tournament. He made a total of 362 runs and took 15 wickets in the 9 matches he played.

Group and Knockout Stages:

Group A:

  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Zimbabwe
  • Kenya
  • Canada

Group B:

  • South Africa
  • India
  • England
  • West Indies
  • Bangladesh
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands

Pakistan and South Africa topped their groups with 5 wins each. Not surprisingly, the other teams that advanced to the knockout stages were England, India, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Australia, and the West Indies.

West Indies faced Pakistan and were thrashed in the first match of the Quarter Finals. India was then set to face Pakistan in the Semi Finals, after they defeated Australia with 5 wickets to spare. South Africa chocked again in their Quarter Final match and failed to chase a small total of 221 made by New Zealand. Sri Lanka cruised to a comfortable victory against their opponents England.

The first Semi Final was against Sri Lanka and New Zealand. Sri Lanka won the match with ease, as they chased down a target of 220 with 5 wickets and 2.1 overs to spare. The arch rivals India and Pakistan faced each other in the second Semi Final that was attended by Prime Ministers of both countries. India made 260, after Sachin was given 5 lifelines in his knock of 85. Pakistan failed to chase down the score and was bowled out for 231 runs.

The Final between Sri Lanka and India, was also the Final match for the legend Muttiah Muralitharan. Even though Sri Lanka managed 274 in the first innings, India chased down the target with 6 wickets to spare. Team India lifted the World Cup for the second time. It was a unique achievement because India became the first country in the history of Cricket to win the Cup at their home soil.

World Cup 2015

The World Cup 2015 will be played in Australia and New Zealand. The last World Cup played in these 2 countries was back in 1992. This will be a tough tournament for the sub-continent teams, as they will have to battle it out on quick and bouncy wickets. The Australian, South African and English players will fancy their chances, and will hope to take home the Cup.

Source by Danish Muneer

Spread the love